Kansas City Kansas Public Schools - Libraries

Inspiring Excellence: Every Grownup, Every Child, Every Day.

School Library Pattern

All School Databases

tutor.com tutor.com

Provides live homework help and in-person tutoring services that connect students to a professional tutor online in math, science, social studies or English. This database does require a Kansas City, Kansas Public Library card. If you need a card, please consider registering for an eCard by clicking here. This will provide you immediate access.

explora Explora Middle School

For general background information on a wide variety of topics. Draws from encyclopedias, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and scholarly journals.

explora Explora High School

For general background information on a wide variety of topics. Draws from encyclopedias, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and scholarly journals.

explora Explora Multi-Search

Draws from scholarly journals, and higher-level magazines for results.

world book student World Book Student

Tailored for students in elementary and middle schools, World Book Student includes all the articles from the print versions of the World Book Encyclopedia, plus thousands of additional articles, learning resources, and research tools. World Book Student is also optimized for tablets for the ultimate mobile research experience.

World Book Advanced World Book Advanced

World Book Advanced is a powerful reference tool that includes encyclopedia, multimedia, online books, and primary source databases, fully integrated in a single search.

Funk & Wagnalls Funk and Wagnalls

Online encyclopedia with many topics and biographies. Powered by EBSCO.

Britannica MiddleEncyclopedia Britannica: Middle School

Encyclopedia for general background information on a wide variety of topics, including current events.

BHS Encyclopedia Britannica: High School

Encyclopedia for general background information on a wide variety of topics, including current events.

LRC Literary Reference

A comprehensive source for information on authors and their works. Includes both biographical information as well as literary criticism.

NLP Novelist Plus

Similar to GoodReads, Novelist Plus provides readers with recommendations, reviews, and lists of similar books or authors. It also offers readers many ways to search for a book by the kind of story they are looking for.

SRC Student Resources in Context

For general background information on a wide variety of topics, from historical to current events. Draws from encyclopedias, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and scholarly journals.

OVP Opposing Viewpoints

For general background information on a wide variety of topics, from historical to current events. Draws from encyclopedias, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and scholarly journals.

hrc History Reference Center

Provides thousands of primary source documents and background on a wide variety of historical events and people.

msp Middle Search Plus

Designed for middle school, this database draws from popular middle school magazines, biographies and historical essays. It includes primary source documents, reference books and a vast image collection.

ps Primary Search

Designed for elementary, this database draws from popular children's magazines, easy-to-read encyclopedic entries and a vast image collection. Students can learn about a variety of topics, such as endangered species, famous musicians, fitness, space exploration and more.

ts TOPICsearch

Teachers, librarians and student researchers can use this database to explore current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries, and other popular topics frequently discussed in the classroom.

MU MAS Ultra

Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for popular high school magazines covering a wide-range of subject areas including history, science, careers and more.

MFP MasterFILE Premier

Designed specifically for public libraries, this database provides full text for magazines, reference books and primary source documents. It also includes an extensive image collection containing photos, maps and flags.

WBP World Book of Early Peoples

World Book’s Early Peoples examines such ancient civilizations of the Chinese, Egyptians, Greeks, and Romans, and others.

WBTL World Book Timelines

World Book’s Early Peoples examines such ancient civilizations of the Chinese, Egyptians, Greeks, and Romans, and others.

WBG World Book Green

Learn all about environmental issues and green living practices.

WBID World Book Inventions & Discoveries

Explores the impact of the inventions and discoveries that continue to shape our world today, including an examination of advances in agriculture, engineering, communications, economics, manufacturing, the arts, astronomy, transportation, warfare, medicine, mathematics, and everyday items.

GF GreenFILE

This database draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.

CH Consumer Health

A comprehensive resource for consumers, Consumer Health Complete is designed to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics, providing content from mainstream medicine to complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.

ML MEDLINE

This database provides full-text for many of the most-used biomedical and health journals, allowing doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers access to the information as soon as it is published.

WBEE Enciclopedia Estudiantil

World Book Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos is the optimal beginner's Spanish-language reference tool.

FA Fuente Academica

Fuente Académica provides researchers with a collection of scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain, designed to make academic research readily available.

LEX Learning Express Library

Academic and career tutorials for building skills in high school, college preparation, vocational exams, high school equivalency, adult learning, and courses for Spanish speakers.

ML MedicLatina

A unique collection of medical research and scientific journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers, MedicLatina contains a complete table of contents and PDF full text for peer-reviewed medical journals in the Spanish language.

EXTR Explora Teacher Resources

Explora Educator’s Edition highlights content relevant to teachers, including lesson plans, curriculum standards, and other professional development resources.  

ERIC Eric

The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) provides access to educational literature and resources. This database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.  

LEXL Learning Express Library

Academic and career tutorials for building skills in high school, college preparation, vocational exams, high school equivalency, adult learning, and courses for Spanish speakers.

PD EBSCO Professional Development

This database provides a highly specialized collection of information especially for educators, professional librarians and education researchers.

TR Teacher Reference

A research database for teachers, providing indexing and abstracts for more than 200 peer-reviewed journals.

BSP Business Source Premier

This collection covers a variety of business disciplines, including market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.

RBN Regional Business News

This database provides coverage for full-text business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canada.

SBR Small Business Reference

This database offers exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as the necessary tools and instructions to address a wide-range of small business topics. In addition, it provides business videos, a help and advice section, and information on how to create business plans.

MLL Mango

Mango Languages' language-learning resources help patrons, students, employees, and individuals learn 60+ languages online and on-the-go.

VCC Vocational & Career

Designed to meet a wide variety of vocational and technical research needs, this collection provides full-text coverage for trade and industry-related periodicals including Modern Machine Shop, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Reeves Journal, Restaurant Business, Advertising Age and many more.

AHH Alt HealthWatch

This alternative health research database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Alt HealthWatch provides the latest information and materials for the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies, with in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine.

AA Art Abstracts

With abstracts from a national and international array of publications, Art Abstracts covers a variety of topics from fine, decorative and commercial art to photography, folk art, film and architecture.

AFT Art Full Text

Featuring full-text articles, indexing and abstracts from an array of publications, this database is a robust resource for art students and art historians. Covers a variety of topics from fine, decorative and commerical art to phtotgraphy, folk art, film and architecture.

BCN Book Collection: Nonfiction

Book Collection: Nonfiction contains informative abstracts and searchable full text for more than 4,500 nonfiction titles covering all core subject areas, as well as information on careers, health, sports, adventure, technology, life skills, and more.

CS Computer Source

This database provides a balance of full-text journals and full-text consumer computer titles.

HSC Health Source: Consumer

This rich collection of consumer health information provides access to more than 80 full-text consumer health magazines, including American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Harvard Health Letter, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times and many others.

HSNAE Health Source: Nursing/Academic

This full-text database offers a trusted source of nursing and allied health literature. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition covers an array of relevant topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and many more.

MG Military & Government

Designed to offer current news through a collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs for all branches of the military and government. 

firstsearch First Search

The most comprehensive and up-to-date bibliographic resource available. Users can connect to the materials in libraries—both print and electronic—from WorldCat records and article citations in other FirstSearch databases.

WB World Cat

The world's largest global catalog of library collections.

SK SAGE Knowledge

SAGE Knowledge includes an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and streaming video.

SS SAGE Stats

SAGE Stats makes research easy by providing, in one place, annual measures dating back more than two decades. It features statistical data series created from more than 200,000 government and non-government datasets, covering popular topics of research interest for U.S. states, counties, cities, metropolitan areas, and ZIP codes. By harmonizing carefully-vetted data from multiple sources into the same format– allowing quick downloads, comparisons, and visualizations–SAGE Stats provides power and context for researchers at all levels.

NSP Newspaper Source Plus

This database provides a comprehensive collection of the world's major news content and includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. It also provides television and radio news transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.

NSP Psychological & Behavioral

This database provides a comprehensive collection of the world's major news content and includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. It also provides television and radio news transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.

RP Religion & Philosophy

An essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philsophical studies.

WN Web News

EBSCO's News Harvester provides near real-time access to thousands of top news feeds from around the globe.

KCKPS Mission

Inspiring Excellence: Every Grownup, Every Child, Every Day.

School Libraries' Mission

School Library Staff support KCKPS’s mission by striving to empower students, staff, and community members to be life-long learners, informed decision-makers, information technology users, and enthusiastic readers.

School Libraries' Vision

To have certified School Librarians and Library Aides engage and challenge all students in informational and digital literacy, and inspire a love of reading.